This project, Indo-Norwegian collaboration in Autonomous Cyber-Physical Systems (INCAPS) establishes the long-term collaboration between highly reputed Indian universities which include Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad (IITH), International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad (IIITH) and Birla Institute of Technology and Science (BITS), Hyderabad and Norwegian universities, University of Agder (UiA), Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) and Norwegian Institute for Water Research (NIVA) in world-class research and education. This proposal considers broad areas of research which include smart sensing for autonomous systems, mmWave sensor based system design, de-centralized wireless communications, in-network processing and intelligence for heterogeneous wireless sensor and communication networks, machine learning and deep learning for autonomous systems, data analytics, energy harvesting based smart electronic systems, smart water networks and inference methods for timely detection and prediction, cognitive control and adaptive learning in autonomous cyber-physical systems.

The key objectives of the INCAPS project is to: I). Strengthen collaborative network between industry (both public and private enterprises, small and medium sized enterprises and multi-national companies) and academia. II). Increased value creation and enhanced innovation by using smart sensing, machine and deep learning techniques in autonomous cyber-physical systems. III). Facilitate education and knowledge sharing through better mobility for students and researchers. IV). Create an arena for generation of research and innovation projects. V). Increased utilization of research and educational infrastructure both in Norway and India. VI). Integrate professionals from industries and academics through workshops, seminars, webinars and summer/winter schools.


Prof. Linga Reddy Cenkeramaddi (Project manager and PI, UiA)

Prof. Kimmo Kansanen (Co-PI, NTNU)

Dr. Christopher Harman (Co-PI, NIVA)

Prof. Phaneendra K. Yalavarthy (Co-PI, IISc Bangalore)

Prof. Abhinav Kumar (Co-PI, IIT Hyderabad)

Prof. Soumya J and Prof. M.B.Srinivas (Co-PIs, BITS Hyderabad)

Prof. Lalitha Vadlamani (Co-PI, IIIT Hyderabad)